El Futuro

April 11, 2010 at 11:42 pm (Uncategorized)

Grease is the word…the word that opens in less than 2 weeks! I’m so excited, it’s going to be a great show. We’ll definitely be ready for it. I think sometimes I’m a little too hard on myself, but I don’t know. I don’t want to suck. I want to be able to keep up with all these wonderfully talented people who are making theatre their life. How can I let them down? That’s the last thing I ever want to happen. It’ll be good.

The last couple of days I’ve been thinking a lot about the future. For various reasons, really, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say I wasn’t influenced by a couple of friends (I’m looking at you Camille and Chelsey). I mean, I’m getting old, but not really. Assuming I live to be 80, I’m a quarter of the way done with life…though that means I have 3/4 left, realistically. I’m certainly not ready to settle down, but it makes you think. I’m still young, though, and unsure. Who knows what I’m going to do with my life? I know probably least of anyone. I’m slightly envious of people who are so certain.

I am  a beat, a rhythm. My family and friends are  a melody that is playing constantly, weaving up and down, crescendoing and decrescendoing as my life unfolds. The people I love are interspersed as harmonies, hopeful or melancholy depending on the situation. It is a beautiful symphony that is constantly playing. I can replay the sweeter notes and know that even the minor chords are teaching moments.

I might not know where I’m going, but it certainly seems worthwhile to try to enjoy the ride.

  • There is a Ben Folds song for every situation.
  • Chuck Norris/Bruce Campbell/Robb Akey Jokes are always appropriate.
  • Puns are the best kind of humor.
  • Psych is the best show on television. That doesn’t mean I don’t love Glee or House or the Daily Show, but nothing else is quite the same.
  • A Capella music is awesome.
  • Writing is cathartic. Listening to music is cathartic.

(I’m doing both. Who would have guessed?)

Game: First word that comes to mind down the alphabet:

Arithmetic

Bed Bug

Cooler

Dank

Everything

Frog

Giraffe

Hippie

Igloo

Jalapeno

Kangaroo

Lamination

Mongoose

Nicaragua

Omnipotent

Procedural

Questionable

Rain

Salad

Tunisia

Umbrella

Vinyl

Walrus

Xylophone

Young

Zebra

Psychoanalyze that! Ha

Do we build our own bridges, or do we walk upon bridges that have been placed in front of us? Does it matter? What are these bridges, anyway? And where do they go? Is it a bridge to nowhere? Perhaps a musical bridge? Get out some cards and play bridge? Adjective or noun?

Above is why I love English so much. There are a million meanings to everything. It helps actors out, I am certain. You can find a lot of humor in things that are out of context. Humor, deep philosophical meaning, whatever you want, really.

Leave a Reply

