Crooked Teeth

July 20, 2010 at 11:10 pm (Uncategorized)

I attended my uncle’s memorial service this past Saturday. It was nice, the weather cooperated (perhaps a little too much, I was sunburned), and pretty much the entire family was there to say goodbye.

I personally want a service where there are equal parts laughter and tears (or equal parts laughter and dancing on my grave, either way is ok with me). My parents want something ironic, like “Another One Bites the Dust” playing. My  sensibilities say that something more subtle would be appropriate…though nothing in particular comes to mind right away.
While it was nice to see family, it was a somber weekend to be sure. A bright spot was getting to visit with Mary Hourihan and Caroline Campbell while seeking out bubble tea in Lynnwood on Friday evening. It had been too long since I had last seen them.

Driving 10 or 12 hours over the course of a weekend gives you a lot of time to think about things. It also gives you a lot of time to listen to whatever music you feel like. Those two things are my favorite part, I think. I can listen to a song 3 or 4 times in a row and not have to worry about bothering my fellow passengers. I can also turn on something mellow and let my thoughts drift wherever they feel like drifting. I listened to a lot of Death Cab, both there and back. Something about it just lets me listen and then not listen so much to the music as to the stream of my own thoughts. It’s quite nice.

On Sunday, I finally got to meet Keith in person. If you aren’t aware, I’m interning for Keith Allred’s campaign this summer. He’s running for Governor of Idaho as a Democrat, but he’s very solidly independent. He is one of the most impressive, intelligent, and articulate people I have ever met. It was nice getting a chance to talk with him for a bit, and it was also lovely to listen to him talk to a crowd and answer questions. Some people just have “it,” you know? And Keith has “it” in spades. Everything you could possibly want in an elected official. I’m certain that he will win this fall, it’s just a matter of talking to enough people.

I turn 20 tomorrow. Well technically in about 50 minutes, I guess. 20 is such an uninteresting birthday. Sure, you’re not a teenager anymore, but for a lot of people, myself included, you haven’t really been a teenager for a while before. Of course I’m young, so maybe hanging out with people a few years older has skewed my perception of things. I can already vote, too young to drink for a year and too young to get reasonable car insurance rates for a bit longer.

Off to bed, up at 7:30, and then for my first coffee as an “adult.”

And you can’t find nothing at all if there was nothing there all along….

Leave a Reply

