Laundry

July 30, 2010 at 11:49 pm (Uncategorized)

Doing laundry on a Friday night is generally not my idea of a great time, but I must admit that all alone at Sudzees is quite pleasant. Cartoons are playing in the background, the air smells like detergent, and I’m secure in the knowledge that in the next 10 minutes or so, my clothes will be clean. Next time I’m not waiting until I’m wearing my second to last pair of boxers. Who knows what might come up, and no one wants to get caught without clean underwear.

Another week is over. One week closer to football, to classes, to new adventures and the rest of my life. I can’t say that I’m ready for summer to end, because it’s been quite enjoyable. There is something thrilling, though, about the prospect of the future. That’s something that never goes away. Things are always imagined to be more than they are, and prospects of greatness or despair lurk around the corner. Reality shines a revealing light on the present moment. That brightness is wonderful in its own way; life would be boring if things happened just as you imagined they would.

Leave a Reply

