It’s Thursday.

April 28, 2011 at 6:48 pm (Uncategorized)

Today in one of my classes, we had a slam poet, Andrea Gibson, come and talk with us/do some poems/generally be awesome. It was fantastic, and inspiring. It inspired me to do some thinking…and so I think I’m going to write it down a little bit.

As I was walking to Op Shop, there was a cloud shaped just like a giant penis floating above the admin. I chuckled, and then thought about clouds, and how they can be anything we see in them. And they’re constantly shifting–the wind will turn that phallus into a shoe, or a rhino, or anything at all.

I thought about what it means to be a man. And then, what it means to be a woman. And I didn’t come to any good conclusions, but I feel like maybe we should think more about what it means to be human, and roll with that. How can we get beyond what we are now…how can we shed our preconceived notions of how the world works and get to the truth that’s already in front of us?

How does the world look different if Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech is slam poetry?

How can I be buried under the weight of a million little stresses, and still be here writing instead? How can I lose myself in a song for an instant and have the world go away–how can I live in that moment as it’s happening instead of worrying about the past and the future and everything I can’t control right at that moment?

How can I love everyone, even the people that hate me or the people that bother me or people I don’t know; those that haven’t been born yet and those that are long gone?

I’m sitting here, listening to the Carpenters (don’t give me that look), being actually somewhat productive, and thinking.

Thinking is a little bit dangerous, but as we’re told, the unexamined life isn’t worth living. That doesn’t mean the examined life is easy, or fun.

That’s my brain at the moment…I will leave you with these haiku (I just found out haikus isn’t actually a word–who knew?) I wrote in class yesterday about Paul.

Paulkus

Paul was a jew.

Bam, Jesus. Not anymore!

This class is quite long.

Did Paul write this stuff?

How should I know? I’m twenty.

Paul uses not haikus.

Sweet rhetorician.

Paul keeps his pimp hand strong, yo.

Brothers and sisters.

Galatians angry.

Corinthians, not so much.

Romans is longest.

Leave a Reply

