September 13th

September 13, 2011 at 6:23 am (Uncategorized)

Every morning I watch the sunrise. And every morning it comes a little bit later. I wonder what it would be like to believe that the gods are slowly pulling the sun out of the sky, or that there was some kind of significance to it other than the earth flying around the sun in space. When I think about it, I don’t know if that sounds any less crazy. I suppose just because something is true doesn’t mean it can’t be strange, or abstract. Maybe it’s enough that the sunrise is beautiful, and though understanding the world around me is nice–and probably important in its own way–it sometimes is beneficial to just sit and observe, and take something in (like a sunrise) without spending too much time thinking about it. Let the beauty in life just come to us, and we can sit with it for a while before having to go off and life the hustle bustle of our lives.

So I will sit, and enjoy the sunrise, knowing that even in the midst of a lame job that keeps me awake all night there is a silver lining. How many people get to watch the sunrise every morning? How many people talk about watching sunrises?

…I know it’s more than “several” and less than “all of them.”

Having time alone with my thoughts is pleasant and awful all at once. I get to think through a lot, and write about some of it. It’s a give and take between the peaceful quiet and the lack of having someone else to talk with for the majority of my time spent awake. Mostly I just pretend that when I write this blog all of you are in the room with me…it’s just that you’re very quiet and I can only communicate with you via the internet. It’s like having pseudo-imaginary friends…though if you think about it, Facebook does feel like that at times.

Anyway, I know all of you feel lucky getting two posts in one night, so you’re welcome.

 

“There was never a night or a problem that could defeat sunrise or hope.” ~Bern Williams

 

 

 

 

“Life is a great sunrise. I do not see why death should not be an even greater one.” ~Vladamir Nabokov

Leave a Reply

