We Looked like Giants

September 17, 2011 at 2:18 am (Uncategorized)

Hello dear world (blogosphere? Facebook fiefdom? Cyber country?),

I know you missed me. No new blog post yesterday…It broke a pretty strong streak I had going there. Unfortunately I am sans computer at home at the moment, and that makes it somewhat difficult. Not much more to say than that; time to just jump into another night’s musings.

I finished my Teach for America application today. I had everything finished except for my letter of intent. How do you say how much you want to make a difference and help people without having it sound contrived, especially in 500 words or less? I did what I could. And now of course I’m nervous I won’t move forward at all. I don’t know how I’d take it if I didn’t get in. It’s always hard getting rejected from something you really care about. It’s out of my hands now, I can just hope I did well enough to make it happen. It’s not not to look ahead and be excited about it all though. It’s one of those things you just have to try not to think about too much, and I’ll know on the 22nd. So we will see!

Auditions tomorrow for directing scenes. Should be fun, being in rehearsal couple nights a week and keeping myself sane. I guess this is assuming I can get in; I didn’t last year. My understanding is that they are hurting for people this time around, so I like my chances.

Feeling a bit drained, not much exciting to write about. However, I will scour the internet for some interesting things and perhaps leave you with a few of them.

 

“After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.” ~Aldous Huxley

I agree, and I love me some BNW.

“My life is every moment of my life. It is not a culmination of the past.” ~Hugh Leonard

Too true, and how often we forget.

“All major religious traditions carry basically the same message, that is love, compassion and forgiveness the important thing is they should be part of our daily lives.” ~Dalai Lama

Anyone who has read my blog before will know that I agree with that!

Ryan and Caitlin came and visited me this evening, huzzah for friends! I get pretty lonely out here, and occasionally having my existence reaffirmed is pretty great.

Well sorry for the terribleness of this post, but my mind is not focused even a little bit today. I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me. Next one will be better!

Leave a Reply

