Sept. 20th, barely

September 20, 2011 at 12:45 am (Uncategorized)

There is something about listening to good music that never fails to put me in an excellent mood. I’m not too high or low…simply content with things as they are. I like these moods quite a bit. I think we all have our various styles of music that are capable of putting us in these states, and I find it fascinating that it can vary so much from person to person. I can appreciate good country or metal music, but in general my appreciation of someone’s talent won’t necessarily translate into me being happy with my place in the universe. I seem to find it mostly with more mellow songs that have harmonies and are generally pop-based. Jazz can do it too if I’m feeling it that day. I love listening to talented vocalists sing…both as something to aspire to and to appreciate for it’s own sake. I don’t always get to where I am right now, but it wouldn’t be so pleasant if I didn’t know some dissatisfaction as well. It’s the same when I’m singing. There are some days where I feel like I can do anything with my voice, all the notes seem to be hitting the right places, and I think that I could melt the hearts of a million women (and probably some guys too, I suppose) with a single song. Other days I feel croaky and incapable and I wonder why I ever bothered picking up this whole singing business in the first place. Of course most days lie somewhere between those two extremes, but it’s interesting how our mental states can affect our voices. I don’t do anything different, but it comes out different. Very weird, and kind of cool, assuming I am theoretically capable of harnessing my mind in such a way so that I can be in that good place more often than not.

I’ve noticed that for a blog entitled politicallymusical, I tend to talk a lot about the music and very little about the politics. I think it’s because politics right now for me are quite frustrating. Maybe I’ll try my hand at it soon, but it’s one of those things I need to write about when I’m either in an analytical mood or ready to rant. Neither describes me at the moment.

“It is a wise man that does know the contented man is never poor, whilst the discontented man is never rich.” ~ Frank Herbert

Leave a Reply

