The Sing-Off!

September 21, 2011 at 3:56 am (Uncategorized) ()

So, Kyle said something I felt worth quoting the other night. We were talking about my recent spate of blogging as compared to how much I’ve written in the past, and he said that my blogs now are better because it “these are like your adventures while being put into solitary confinement on a nightly basis.” I would have to say that’s a fairly accurate statement. BUT…tonight is my Friday, so I can’t be too down about it. The nights actually seem to pass fairly quickly.

Watched the first episode of the sing-off tonight. I must say, it is excellent. Definitely must-see TV if you like music. Sara Bareilles is a far better judge than that other chick. Not much more to say than that. I think the first group that went is my favorite so far, but there’s no group on there that I seriously dislike. Kinfolk-9 is fairly meh, but they could easily turn in a much better performance. So much for that.

Helped lead the first of two sessions for Alton’s leadership class tonight, it went well I thought. I had a little less time than I had planned for, which was fine, but I ended up being a bit more jumbled than I wanted to be and ended up talking more than I wanted to. Not that me talking is the end of the world, but I was hoping to spur a little more discussion. Hopefully I will ask the right questions next time (tomorrow) when I do the other section.

So I may or may not have mentioned this in a previous post, but I was cast in two 10 minute shows for this semester. Looking forward to that A LOT. It also is funny how much less daunting these shows seem after throwing together a 10 minute show (and moreover a musical) in 9 hours. It helps that I have a lot of free time in which to memorize lines. I do need to print off the shows but of course my computer is out of commission and I no longer have access to the school’s printers since I am no longer a student. I wonder if the hotel would be upset if I used like 20 pages to print off a couple shows? I mean I doubt they would be particularly happy with it, but I also doubt they would notice if I just did it. So that is somewhat of a dilemma. Something to figure out in the next couple of days.

Goals for my “weekend”

  • Do my laundry. It’s getting pretty bad. It should have been done a week and a half ago.
  • Don’t get sick. There are plenty of people I know (Bethany this is looking at you) who are ill at the moment. Going to try to avoid catching it.
  • Have some Size 10 rehearsal. It’s been far too long. I don’t know if we’ll be able to work in the time, but it would be awesome if we could.
  • Become caffeinated. I have 3 coffee outings with friends in the next two days. There is nothing better than just sitting down and talking to people about life and everything. I wish I could do it everyday. I probably would if I had enough people who wanted to spend a while sitting and chatting that often.

In other exciting news, I sent my first fax ever today. There just never has been any reason to send one before–email or regular mail has been fine. I’ve received faxes, but never sent one. So that’s pretty exciting…welcome to the world of corporate communication! I actually sent it for one of the guests. I wasn’t sure if it was ok to send other people’s faxes from our machine, but since I didn’t know I went with my general life rule of not being a dick and said sure. I don’t see why it would be an issue.

Well it’s already 4am and this post is fairly dull, but I do want to just say that at the moment, I’m not afraid of what life is going to bring me. I’m cautiously optimistic that things are going to go well. And if they don’t, well maybe that’s how it was meant to be.

Leave a Reply

