Blogging about not blogging

September 25, 2011 at 6:26 am (Uncategorized)

Well,

tonight I didn’t manage to put down my thoughts onto virtual paper. Most of the reason is because I feel pretty run down and just generally blah from the past few days of screwing with my sleep schedule and then now. However, life has been pretty fantastic since you last heard from me, so I’ll recap a few of the major things that happened to me during my time off.

  1. I not only was selected to continue on in the Teach for America process, they liked me enough to skip the phone interview and go directly to the in-person one. I have a little bit more work to do before that, but I am incredibly excited for the opportunity.
  2. I got called back to interview at a law firm downtown. This hotel job just kind of sucks away at my soul, and I would love to do a job that is at least related to my degree. And you never know, I could love it and decide to get my law degree. I’ll never be able to figure that kind of thing out if I don’t actually see what it’s like. I’m just hoping to do well enough to get the job. Working normal hours would be so wonderful. I’d be able to see people again, sleep normally, and feel like I’m really doing something. Gotta bring my game face on Wednesday.
  3. Size 10 Shoe randomly had a gig at Gnosh on Thursday night. It was totally last minute but we played a pretty good set. They seemed to really like us, so that was awesome. We were all a bit run down, especially Kyle, but fortunately for me Danny and Kyle are professionals so they were able to do all the work and I was able to be loud-ish.
  4. I’m getting a new computer and it should be here on Monday. Definitely ready to have another one…had major problems ordering from Dell and they were completely unhelpful in every possible way. So I bought a samsung instead. It was highly rated by consumer reports, so I’m not worried.
That’s most of the good things that have happened so far the last few days. I’m excited to see what this week brings (and if you pray or think good thoughts about people I certainly wouldn’t mind anyone sending some of those my way Wednesday morning) and it’s one of those times where life has given you a bunch of opportunities…I need to reach out and get them. Just have to be myself; I know what I’m capable of.
“There is no scarcity of opportunity to make a living at what you love; there’s only scarcity of resolve to make it happen.” ~Wayne Dyer
Leave a Reply

