Blue Monday

September 27, 2011 at 1:22 am (Uncategorized)

But not blue in the sense that it’s depressing. More in the sense that they offer half price drinks at the Garden, which is the main bar in Moscow. And I went out with my roommates for a while before I had to head off to work. It was actually a lot of fun, I don’t ever get to hang out with those guys (and Bethany! Although our schedules oddly mesh up a lot better than mine with Kyle or Danny) so it was a good plan. Having a couple drinks before work would be more of a deal if I actually did anything. In any case it’s not something I want to make a habit, but every so often…I won’t hold it against myself.

Listening to some Ben Folds, which is excellent. It’s the right kind of semi-melancholy groove I need for this particular evening. I just love piano heavy music…I’m not sure why it speaks to me, but for whatever reason I can always get behind it, especially when it’s acoustic. That extends to guitar for the most part also. Billy Joel springs to mind; so do Sara Bareilles, Ingrid Michaelson, and James Taylor.

Leave a Reply

