Goodbye, Sunrise

October 13, 2011 at 3:59 am (Uncategorized)

Dear Sunrise,

Please don’t take this too personally. You know that our affair together has been pleasant, with moments of real affection and mutual understanding. You and I both know, though, that this isn’t the right place for me. I’m out of my element. You were busy lighting up the rest of the world, and frankly, we didn’t get to spend as much time together as I might like. Here in the dark, it just wasn’t working. I was a little worried when I first got here that there would be nothing to the job, but you and I quickly connected in a way I didn’t expect.  Those quiet pale dawns that rose up over downtown from the east during the month of September were the highlight of my time here, and I’ll think on them fondly. However, I need to move on to bigger and better things.

Don’t worry, I’ll come back and visit you from time to time. No, it won’t be the same…I doubt we’ll run into each other expecting it. A chance encounter here and there; awkward glances. In all honesty, I’ll probably end up spending more time with sunset. It hurts to hear, but I know you would want me to be happy. I wish you the best, and don’t worry. You’ll find someone who can appreciate you one day. In the meantime, keep in mind this is a college town. You’ll find plenty of one night stands among the students who’ve been up, especially right now at midterms. Just enjoy this final morning with me, and we’ll worry about the future after that.

Stay in touch, and know that I am appreciative.

Much love,

Jordan

Leave a Reply

