New Beginnings

November 25, 2012 at 11:20 pm (Uncategorized)

The political season is over, I’ve moved all my stuff back to Camas from Moscow, and I’ve spent the past week in Seattle doing family things for Thanksgiving. Now that all of that is over, tomorrow really seems like the first day of the next chapter in my life. Definitely feels odd. On the job hunt for the first time in a while with all the nervousness about finding something that I can enjoy/is going to advance my career hopes/will let me make a reasonable amount of money.

I feel as though this step is a sort of inverse of leaving for college–the excitement I felt next big adventure has been replaced by apprehension. There’s no discernible difference between my life of the past year and half (out of school, working, living on my own) and my life going forward (outside of being back at home for a little while before I move into my own place), but for whatever reason I don’t have that sense of excitement I felt back then. Maybe I was just naive–but I think the largest part is the feeling of permanence that has settled over me. Life is here, and there’s no getting around it. No more being insulted by living in academia, or being in Moscow (which can be its own little world).

 

I feel like the words I want to say are just rattling around in my brain, but that this is all coming out as gibberish. It’s a first step, though, and that’s what the next bit will be about. First steps into the next big step. I’m not going to write well after spending no time writing, and that’s just the way it is.
Better topics to come?

Leave a Reply

