2013

January 1, 2013 at 12:16 pm (Uncategorized)

Good morning afternoon world,

It’s officially the new year. I had a pleasant time last night with friends, so nothing to complain about here. I hope that everyone made it safely home and avoided trouble (well most of it, anyhow) last night.

I always find the New Year to be a bittersweet thing–on the one hand it is an opportunity for new and wonderful experiences, but you are also mourning the fact that there were a lot of wonderful things about the past year that you know will not/cannot ever be again. This certainly says something about me, but this is the first new years since opening ’09 that I haven’t been dating someone, and realistically things were sufficiently in the works that if I’m being intellectually honest with myself it’s the first new years of the sort since ’04? I think. Basically the first time in forever. So that’s part of the bittersweetness.

In any case, I would rather dwell on the positive things, because I have a lot to look forward to. A new job, new friends, more music, visiting old friends, and much more.

Being New Years Day, it means bowls, bowls, and more bowls. Of the football variety, thank you (as much as I love my state that’s not really my scene). A couple good games tonight especially that I am looking forward to. I can’t be the only one who thinks that Northern Illinois has a solid chance to upset an inconsistent Seminoles squad.

So I’m going to go on and continue watching football. Tomorrow: something less terrible.

Leave a Reply

