Re:Stacks

February 16, 2013 at 9:41 pm (Uncategorized)

I’ve been bad about writing, but there have been some rather significant changes in my life in the past couple of weeks and I just haven’t felt like writing much. Going to try to get back into it, at least a few times a week.

It’s not really a “for Lent” thing (I’m not catholic and the plan is to stick with it past Easter, presumably) but I have decided to go back to being a vegetarian for at least a while. I’ve been eating less since the start of the year and it’s worked to the tune of about 10 pounds (which is pretty great) but would love to lose another 10-20 and then add around 5-10 pounds of muscle. So a net loss (for 2013) of around 15 pounds with some added muscle. I have been pretty consistent with my eating habits but my workout schedule has been more sporadic. I would love to have a workout partner, but thus far I haven’t found anyone around to work out with. That’s just something I know about myself–I am much more comfortable letting things slide when it’s only me vs. when I am holding myself accountable for/to someone else. I’m just pleased with my progress so far and need to make sure I keep on doing well every day.

Heading up to Moscow next weekend for Jazz Fest, pretty excited about that. Love the music, the volunteering, and visiting friends.

I went to the library the other day for the first time in a long time (at least to the Camas Public Library). I don’t know exactly how long it’s been, but since college at least. To my surprise my library card still worked. It was gunky and gross after sitting unmoved in my wallet for half a decade, but it still is the key to opening a multitude of doors to the imagination. So I’ve got that going for me.

 

“Whatever we are waiting for – peace of mind, contentment, grace, the inner awareness of simple abundance – it will surely come to us, but only when we are ready to receive it with an open and grateful heart.” -Sarah Ban Breathnach

That’s one of the next steps I have for myself–opening my heart and being content with things as they are. I am seeking. Not sure what for, exactly. That’s not really true–I am looking for a way to navigate the murky turbulence of existence, to have my eyes be as open as they can be. Something of an existential–crisis is the wrong word–snag, maybe. I guess I know on some level the only way to be OK is to accept, but that path is a difficult one. Just have to keep on going.

 

“When you are discontent, you always want more, more, more. Your desire can never be satisfied. But when you practice contentment, you can say to yourself, ‘Oh yes – I already have everything that I really need.” -Dalai Lama

 
 
Leave a Reply

