Stonking Tweety Birds

February 20, 2013 at 10:55 am (Uncategorized)

Image

I don’t usually put pictures in these things, but if you like football at all you should check out Dave’s Art Locker and his web comic called The Draw Play. This particular image is part of a series he did “if NFL teams were all British.” I enjoyed it.

This is sort of the sports wasteland time of year for me, speaking of football. The NFL and college seasons are over, and we’re not yet at march madness or the NBA playoffs. It’s not that I don’t like the NBA, college basketball, hockey, or international soccer, but none of them have the pull that football does. It’s more that they’re just on and I like watching sports, so I have them on in the background while I try to be productive. Perhaps my favorite “sports wasteland” sport is women’s college basketball. It’s entertaining and I legitimately think that those women are there to get an education. Much less of the whole “shamatuerism” thing that pervades the NCAA is going on there. As the sport gets more popular and starts bringing in more money that will start to become an issue in women’s basketball too. It’s more or less inevitable with all the tv money out there these days.

In totally unrelated news, I thought this quote is relevant to everyone, but maybe especially to my theatrical friends:

“Maturity includes the recognition that no one is going to see anything in us that we don’t see in ourselves. Stop waiting for a producer. Produce yourself.” -Marianne Williamson

It emphasizes what I think most of us already know: you have to work on yourself before you can be the kind of person you want to be and to have other people see you as that person.

Getting pretty jazzed (ehh, ehhhhh?!) about going up to Moscow this weekend. Good music, good friends, good times. What more could you want?

Can you tell that I don’t have a specific topic for today? Well that’s not exactly true, I have virtual sticky notes all over my computer screen with little bits of blog posts and topics for things to write about all over, but none of them jumped out at me as something that wanted to get written today. So here we are. And here I go.

Leave a Reply

