Spring Rain

March 6, 2013 at 11:06 am (Uncategorized)

Living in western Washington you get used to the semi-endless rain. We’ve been spoiled by a few nice days lately, but there is something rather pleasant about watching the rain fall from my window. I’m not sure whether it’s an innate feeling of mine or whether I’ve been conditioned by a lifetime of living in it, but either way I’m not complaining. Spring rain especially has its own feeling to it. It’s a different kind of drizzle than you see in the fall or winter. Maybe it’s because there’s a little more daylight, or because I know that summer is not as far away as it once was. It could be a construct I create in my mind. I posit, though, that spring rain is different.

I have a job interview this afternoon at 2 with the city of Vancouver about an event planning position. It’s part time so I’ll need to continue looking for another part time job if I get it, but it will be nice to be working again. You don’t realize how validating employment is (even in jobs you dislike or feel are menial) until you’ve been out of work for a while. It’s interesting as a person who has had great academic success to find that in the “real” world people don’t care about what your potential is as much as they care about what you have done. I can’t say I blame them; it takes much more work to evaluate potential than to look at a past body of work. So I am optimistic that if I get this job it will be a stepping stone to showcase my abilities, learn some new skills, and step forward into bigger and brighter things.

I think the danger in life is that we sometimes wait for things to happen to us, rather than making things happen ourselves. The world rewards boldness. It can be rather frightening at times, being bold. I’m not saying I’m a great example of it. I’m trying to be, though. Boldness not in the sense of charging heedlessly into this or that, but boldness by reaching out and taking chances, trying to meet new people, experience new things, and by challenging my own insecurities and fears.

 

In any case wish me luck/send me positive thoughts if that’s your thing, and hopefully you’ll be seeing me write about my new job soon.

Leave a Reply

