Angle of Repose

March 7, 2013 at 9:07 am (Uncategorized)

The thing I enjoy about learning most may be the random facts that stick in your head forever and seem to come up unreasonably often. Somewhere down on that list, though, is random associations that come up from time to time. For instance in my freshman year of college I took a class about natural disasters (and yes, it was exactly as awesome as you would think it would be). We at some point learned that on a given slope there is an “angle of repose,” an angle past which the slope is no longer stable and will fall. This morning as I was making coffee it came back to me since my mother mixes decaf and regular coffee in a bag (when you set it on the table it sort of forms its own little tiny hill). As I scooped out some coffee it upset the delicate balance of the hill, sending grounds tumbling down. And I thought to myself, “angle of repose!”

So, teachers, I do remember things you teach. Just at weird times.

We got some really cool new pieces in choir last night–I am consistently impressed by the sight reading abilities (and overall talent, really) of the people I get to sing with. I think choral singing, especially, is an overlooked skill at times. Lots of people can get up there and sing by themselves, but to fit seamlessly into a group is its own different kind of challenge. I know that it is not necessarily my forte. The fun part is improving, though, so I just want to continue doing that.

 

“The only thing better than singing is more singing.” —Ella Fitzgerald

Leave a Reply

