Jerbs jerbs jerbs

April 3, 2013 at 3:44 pm (Uncategorized)

So, if I have a part time job, I had an interview for another part time job today, and then a third interview for ANOTHER part time job on Friday, does that mean at some point I could theoretically fuse them all together power rangers/horadric cube/monkey bread style?

If that is the case, I probably would immediately pull it apart again if it were like monkey bread, so let’s scratch that idea. At least I have options–and potential things. Everybody wants to know if you’ll be willing to have your job for a while, though (because only working part time is not so great when you need to save up money to move out/go to grad school/live generally). I will tell them yes, and if I can have a couple jobs at once then I will of course stick with them for however long I can make that work.

One of the nice things about working in the nonprofit sector is that people are generally doing it to help other people, so MOST of the time people are pretty nice and willing to be flexible as much as they can be. Which is awesome when you’re looking for second/third jobs, have to take your sister to her zero period choir, your mom to the airport, or get time off to go up to Moscow or Selah or what have you now and again.

Also, I will take a stampede of part time jobs over the unemployment that plagued me for several months any day. Worst case scenario I work a couple jobs for a year and a half and then head back into grad school–best case scenario I parlay them into an AWESOME full time job and then grad school it up in 3ish years, or maybe I’ll love what I’m doing so much that I won’t go back.

I’m kind of torn about the whole grad school thing, because on the one hand I love public policy and it would be rewarding/challenging/fun/inspiring/intellectually stimulating to work in that field. On the other hand, I don’t really want to accumulate a bunch of student debt, and I sometimes wonder if I’m better served by staying flexible for a while. I guess what I’m saying is that I still have a plan (or the plan, you might say) my plans remain as flexible as ever and branch out in many directions the farther out you go. Of course, I could also fail to land either of the jobs from this week and then I’d be right back where I began.

I also really want to audition for Les Miserables this summer in Vancouver, but they won’t post anything other than that the auditions are June 8th and 9th. What do I need to prepare? When are rehearsals? When are the performance dates?!? Well, the performance will be “In August” but that doesn’t help because one of the part time jobs is coordinating volunteers for an event in August, and if that falls on the same day as a performance I’m essentially screwed.

Deep breath. Uncertainty is ok…there is time to figure these things out. So, there’s an update of life. Trying to be better about consistency with my writing. 3 times a week, at least.

Deep breath. Uncertainty is ok…

Leave a Reply

