Alleluia

April 4, 2013 at 5:28 pm (Uncategorized)

We’re singing this piece by Eric Whitacre called “Alleluia” in choir, and it really speaks to me. I don’t always love choral music (it doesn’t always speak to me even when I appreciate its value/goodness/what have you) but this song just takes me to church. If a song takes you to church (in my mind) the phrase means that a song makes you feel like you ideally would at church–both in connection and wonder with your universe and possible creator, with all of the infinite mysteries of life. The song quiets and expands your mind.

Alleluia does that for me. I highly recommend that you check it out.

 

Leave a Reply

