Sunday Night

April 7, 2013 at 10:17 pm (Uncategorized)

My playlist for the night: Au Revoir Simone, Gary Lewis and the Playboys, Missy Higgins, and Justin Timberlake. It’s got me in a pleasant (albeit weird mood). I’m also in that place where I’m tired and want to go to sleep, but my body isn’t ready to. Unfortunate when you have to drive your sister to school at 6:30am, but worst case scenario I can take a brief nap tomorrow afternoon after work. More likely I’ll just power through. Sleep is overrated anyway, right? …Right. I could get really tired soon and still get like 7 hours of sleep, so let’s just plan on that.

I’m not really in a place where I want to write a whole bunch, so here are just some quick hits:

  • Is there anything better than a book or movie that makes you cry at the end? Love the ability to get that invested in something.
  • Unrelated, but every child (and adult) should read “The Phantom Tollbooth.”
  • Semi-related, everyone should read “The Brothers K.”
  • Being in a book club is great for hanging out and drinking, but a nice side benefit is that I force myself to read more.
  • Appreciate the gifts life and people give you every day.
  • Honesty is the best policy, even when it can be difficult.
  • Fake it ’till you make it.
  • Having two concerts in one day can be somewhat annoying in terms of taking up your entire Sunday, but it is 100% worth it. I never get done with a bunch of singing and think to myself “I should have been doing something else.”

Maybe that’s an argument that I should have committed myself to music in a more formal sort of way–but I think that as long as I’m giving myself opportunities and stretching myself things should be OK. Lord knows it’s a process that I have a looooong way to work on before I can consider myself proficient at all. Fortunately I seem to have a knack for surrounding myself with talented and giving people. Never can hurt.

 

 

Leave a Reply

