Saturday Night Thoughts

May 4, 2013 at 10:46 pm (Uncategorized)

A little bit under the weather, but the mind is running around. This will definitely be words vomited onto the page from here on out.

Does it ever seem to you that art (whether it’s tv/books/music/movies/painting) seems to find you at the right point in your life? An album or film shows up in your life and just lifts you up or makes you say–yes, that’s me! The logical side of me says that I’m just exposed to a lot of things regularly so some things are bound to seem more profound at a given time, but there is a part of me that thinks maybe there is some kind of order to this cosmic dance we’re doing. The logical side jumps back in and says “Jordan, that’s just your brain looking for patterns so it can understand. That’s what humans do.” I say “Dammit brain, you’re ruining all my fun, plus you don’t know anything about these FEELINGS, ok?!?! Don’t pretend like you understand me just because you are me!”

I think I would like to be able to believe in some kind of cosmic script, but I just don’t think I can.

Hope is the worst villain of them all. It lets you keep on going even when things are difficult, but it also creates this delusion that things are going to get better despite the fact that they probably won’t. I don’t mean about life generally, that’s just going to have it’s ups and downs. I’m talking more about specific situations.

It reminds me of the Ben Fold’s song “Picture Window.

It’s like Pandora’s box. All the terrible things in the world released, along with hope. I don’t mean to sound so cynical, hope is a good thing on the whole. Just in a mood, is all.

And all was silent in the house, save the gentle lapping of the dog licking himself.

A little while ago I tried to write that I thought “my judgement in music seems pretty good” but what I wrote is “my judgement is music seems pretty good” which coincidentally is also a statement I’m willing to stand by.

 

Leave a Reply

