5/12

May 12, 2013 at 9:06 pm (Uncategorized)

Maybe it has something to do with the semi-isolated nature of my life at present, but I’m getting really into the NBA Playoffs. It helps that most of the games have been pretty competitive. I was trying to watch some baseball earlier, but it’s just not my game. Basketball is much more interesting to watch, IMO.

Choir concert last night–it was a lot of fun outside of the fact that it was about 115 degrees inside of the church we performed in. I was losing focus towards the end, but hung on and I am happy with how it turned out. Got a second wind and sang karaoke well into the night also–I always have a lot of fun doing that. On the whole a very enjoyable evening.

Subject change…

With so many friends graduating from college, it’s strange to think that I won’t be able to just visit Moscow in the future and have many of my closest friends all in once place. To have to go to Seattle, Boise, Denver, Shanghai, or wherever it may be in the next few years to see people will be interesting. Things must come to their natural conclusion, though, and I am fortunate that a) I can connect with people instantly b)Many of my friends are staying in the NW–so that travel won’t be too difficult. Reality dictates that I will drift away from most of these people (like I already have begun to–has it been six months out of Moscow already??) much like high school. The foundation is there, though, and I am confident that when our paths cross again I can enjoy potential time spent with my fellow Vandals.

I am excited to see where people go and what they do–it seems like everyone is getting married, or going to grad school, or heading somewhere exciting (or a combination of any of those things). I have great faith that I will get to say I knew many of these people “way back when,” so that will be fun. The economy is growing (albeit slowly), and the future is looking up. I am hopeful things will continue to improve.

Sometimes I feel like I should be doing more with my life, that I should have achieved more than I have so far. Graduating early was a wonderful thing from a financial perspective, but as a 20 year old I wasn’t ready to move on with my life, and I feel that in some respects it has thrown my career track off kilter a bit. I have had some great experiences (managing political campaigns and working for the city of Vancouver have been fantastic) but thus far I have struggled to find stability in what I’m doing. The lack of stability in my career, coupled with a lack of stability in other facets of my life has really made me reexamine what I’m looking for. The honest answer is that I’m still not sure what life holds for me–there are so many potential paths to take, so many avenues to enact change, so many interesting and wonderful ways one can contribute to the world. I guess I need to be ok with exploring those things for now, and knowing that you might not have the world figured out at 22. 

I’ll be 23 in a little over 2 months. I feel so young, and so old. It’s strange. I imagine I’ll say the same thing at 32, and 42. It seems to be a common theme, that we expect to feel different after arbitrary points in our lives. When you have a birthday, a graduation, a new job, whatever, it just is another day. Another moment like every other moment and yet uniquely itself. If I was supposed to know what it is I am searching for right now I would know. I don’t believe in fate, necessarily, but I do believe what we do has an impact, and right now things are happening that I can’t see, things that will shape the course of my life.

Just have to jump and trust that I will find the right place to land with hard work, determination, and a little luck.

 

Leave a Reply

