Unrelenting Positivity

May 13, 2013 at 10:10 pm (Uncategorized)

So, lately I haven’t been particularly happy in general. There hasn’t been much of a reason for it, and it hasn’t been ALL the time, but outside of sometimes moments of enjoying myself my general state has been one of dissatisfaction. I’ve let it permeate me, let it become my default. I don’t really enjoy being unhappy, but the unhappiness bred more unhappiness (with being unhappy in the first place) in a feedback loop, and I’ve been more or less mired in it.

I was driving to volleyball this evening and had an epiphany–I don’t need to be unhappy. I can change myself. I am a big fan of the “fake it ’til you make it” school of thought, and in life as in acting, one simply has to be. I am a construct (in some ways) of my own consciousness, and I can build habits. Those habits have been mostly negative regarding my view of myself, but they don’t have to be!

Thus, I have decided on a swift and strict course of action: unrelenting positivity. I will not be unhappy. If I start feeling unhappy, I will change direction. Jordan, from May 13th 2013, 7pm-ish, will be unrelentingly positive. I’m done being unhappy, done not progressing towards the person I want to be.

There will be hiccups, naturally, but I will cease being sad and start being awesome instead, as NPH would say. I am not depressed, I’m unhappy, and there is a world of difference. One is medical and this is simply how I am choosing to perceive the world. So here I am, swearing before the 2-3 people that read my blog, facebook, and potentially whatever deity(s) inhabit the universe–I WILL BE UNRELENTINGLY POSITIVE.

To commemorate my first evening as such, let me tell you something positive.

WHY I LOVE VOLLEYBALL, BY JORDAN HENSLEY:

  • Volleyball is fun.
  • I love competition.
  • It’s my best workout of the week–I have tons of motivation to work as hard as I can.
  • The people I play with are a lot of fun.
  • I don’t suck at it.
  • Sports are awesome.
  • It gets me out of the house.
  • It means spending some time with my dad.
  • I can get out of my head and my own way and just BE.

That is a short list. I would probably play volleyball every day if I could, it’s pretty great.

#GoVandals

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    OMG, you’re going to the bright side! I almost didn’t open the link. I was certain “unrelenting positivity” was to be banished as fluff and stuff but then I optimistically read your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

