Half & Half

August 25, 2013 at 9:56 pm (Uncategorized)

“Half the world is composed of people who have something to say and can’t, and the other half who have nothing to say and keep on saying it.” -Robert Frost 

 

I don’t really agree with Frost here, but as far as generalizations go I would argue that it is more accurate than not. There is something to be said for right speech and trying not to say things that aren’t worth saying.

[I just want to interject for a moment that I am listening to Katy Perry’s “Peacock” and I could write a blog post devoted to that song. In fact, I may at a later date. Ridiculous. Anyway.]

I find that at times I am capable of speaking quite eloquently and others I am a stuttering idiot (there’s probably a technical matrix involving knowledge of subject/proximity to attractive females/amount of alcohol consumed/etc), but it’s not always clear to me why I am in one mode or the other. It does often seem that we can speak at length about asinine things, but when it comes time to say what’s really meaningful the words get stuck in our throats.

I know that I am guilty of composing lengthy monologues in my head and then turning to someone and just nodding or saying nothing at all. I do tend to feel at times that restraint and seeing how things play out can be a better choice than letting loose everything I’m thinking. More and more I am coming to the realization that I’m more of a listener than a talker, even though I feel quite comfortable talking a lot. 

For a long time I took that comfort as a sign that I SHOULD talk a lot, should lead conversations, should give my unsolicited opinion about the topic at hand. I’ve come to find that I feel much better just listening, though. I am capable of interjecting when it’s important, but most of the time, it’s really not that important. Words are important, and to waste them can be problematic. 

I find that when I want to just ramble about something I can just write. I write in this blog, for myself, and compose little pieces of things all the time. It lets me form my thoughts, figure out who I am, and try to make sense of the world. 

I also like to share myself with the world, and writing in a public setting allows me to do so without forcing myself on people. If you want to read all this you can, and if you don’t then you won’t click on it. It’s a dynamic I find appealing. 

 

Leave a Reply

