Writing Sample

August 25, 2013 at 9:41 pm (Uncategorized)

Applying for a super cool job, and they’re asking for a writing sample. That’s simple–I’m a good writer, and I write ALL the time! Then I look through my collection of blog posts (personal, inappropriate), press releases (boring, uninspiring), and assorted papers (written years ago/no one wants to read about populism in the early 1900s). 

Balls.

I’ll probably just go with a press release (it’ll show I’m not inept, at the least), but it’s a good reminder to those of you looking for jobs. If you write something, keep a copy! It might come in handy. Especially if it’s like a page long and more than just canned statements. Oh well.

For the moment writing seems preferable to applications, so this is where I’ll be. 

Life is changing. In good ways, mostly. I feel like I’m finally starting to assemble a consistent friend group, which has been the big missing piece since I’ve been back. It’s a bit of the old, a bit of the new, and a whole bunch of awesome. I have met some truly wonderful human persons, and I hope they feel at least somewhat similarly towards me. 

On a semi-related note, I find that at times I have difficulty figuring out what exactly what it is I want. Not in the broad strokes (friendship, company, fulfillment job-wise, laughter, being challenged) but in individual cases. How often can I ask to hang out before it becomes weird? I am the kind of person who is not bothered by rejection, but there’s a line of politeness that occurs between “I’m busy” and “I just really would rather not spend time with you.” I don’t think I am too bad at making the distinction (for the most part) but I do know that I have my moments of obliviousness. It’s a judgement call, but I do worry about being wrong. 

I think a lot of that stems from the fact that I understand how other people can desire “me” time but unless I’m reading there is pretty much no situation where I wouldn’t be perfectly happy always being around other people. That probably makes me an outlier, but here I am. Can’t be anyone but me.

Also, relationships. I have met some really wonderful people (as mentioned before), and we’re all so wonderfully complicated that I don’t always know how to proceed. I’m navigating this post-my-last-relationship landscape and the events of 2013 in general, and if I’m being honest my decisiveness has waned to a large degree with regards to women. 

All you can do is take things one day, one moment at a time and play it by ear. 

I think the biggest mistake that people make with relationships is trying to force things. We want to put easy labels out there, we want to imagine what the END of the relationship will look like as opposed to just enjoying today with someone you think is great. I also feel that at this point in my life what I want/need is more friends, and making things messier with relationships is perhaps not the best course of action.

Part of me also loves the messiness. I wear my heart on my sleeve, I feel what I feel, and occasionally I can be brave and just let things happen. The Jordan I like best is a person who takes risks (calculated), loves everyone, reserves judgement, and radiates compassion to the best of his ability. 

This is somewhat vague, which is part of the problem with writing a public blog and trying to figure out the line of what is worth/appropriate to share and what isn’t. Changes in my life are here and more are on the horizon. I’m getting more OK with that.

Leave a Reply

