Cycling Trivialities

December 16, 2013 at 10:11 pm (Uncategorized)

As 2013 INCHES its way towards the finish line, I reflect that this has been the worst year of my life.

Now, not all of it has been bad, of course. My worst year still pales in comparison to even the average years of many others, and there have been plenty of great moments. If you take the whole of it together, though, I am glad it’s coming to an end. Now, I don’t believe that the changing of the calendar year has any tangible effect on how our lives look, but I do believe that moving to a new place and getting a new job can. 

In case you don’t follow my life quite as closely as I do, the news is that a) I have a new job and b) as of yesterday, I have a new place to live. It’s a nice little apartment with a friend of a friend, and it seems like a pretty ideal living situation. It’s also in my price range and is not tiny or a dump, which wasn’t a given. I’ll move in the first week of January, which is very exciting! I’m ready for new challenges, new adventures, and new friends. I feel like a lot of the last year has been life happening to me. I want to make my life happen, instead. I am going to be bold the best way that I can be, and try to get a little bit better every day. 

So that’s that.

In only somewhat related news, my latest musical kick has been Jose Gonzalez. If you haven’t listened to him before, I highly recommend it, especially the album In Our Nature. It’s super chill, melancholy acoustic guitar-y music, and I absolutely love it. The track “Cycling Trivialities” is both the inspiration for the title of this post and 8 minutes of self reflective wonderfulness. I enjoy it so much in part, I think, because it expresses exactly what I feel these days. Namely that the wheel keeps on spinning, the same unimportant things will come up again and again, and life depends so much on how you respond to it. 

Life requires intention. It requires us to weed through the shit that happens to us all the time and make ourselves through conscious choice. It is being present, for the good and the bad, and if things go well it is us making the choices that bring about a kinder, more compassionate, open, and more selfless world. It’s not easy. 

I don’t really anticipate that making these big changes in my life will make me feel better about everything that’s happened right away, but hopefully by doing my best to make choices that improve me, I can be the Jordan I’m supposed to be.

 

 

“Thus did my siblings and I learn one of the hard lessons of life: the best way to strip the allure and dreaminess from a lifelong dream is, very often, simply to have it come true.” 
― David James Duncan, The Brothers K

Leave a Reply

