2014: Day 1

January 1, 2014 at 3:29 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

So, resolutions are a thing, I guess. 

I have seen a lot of resolution hate floating around, which I sort of understand, but not really. Because while yes, people often don’t keep their resolutions, sometimes you just need a definite start date, that little push to get you to begin. Sticking with your goals is difficult, but for me I think starting is perhaps even harder. There’s always a reason to start tomorrow, and the idea of a new year and a fresh start might be the catalyst some people need to succeed. I guess if I went to the gym all the time, it might be annoying to have it be incredibly crowded during the month of January, but to me it’s all the more reason to encourage people to stick with their goals rather than tell them there’s no way they will keep with it. We’re all in this together. 

Anyway, I have a few things I would like to accomplish this year. Here they are, in no particular order:

  • Be kinder to myself, and work on being OK with just being me instead of what anyone else thinks I should be
  • Finish the Vancouver USA Marathon (bonus goal: average under 11 minutes/mile)
  • Do at least three things outside my comfort zone
  • Want to say no, and say yes instead
  • Go hiking more often. In fact, just spend more time outdoors
  • Be honest, be open, be communicative
  • Tell the people I love that I love them
  • See at least 10 concerts
  • Get to know people who are incredibly different than I am, and become great friends anyway
  • Learn something new every day
  • Laugh every day

So there you have it. It is my sincere hope that everyone achieves whatever goals they have for the new year. I just would ask that you remember that we can each make the world a little better or a little worse this year. Let go of the hate, let go of your preconceived notions, and open yourself up to all the great things that can happen when you just resolve to be nice to your fellow human persons.

Happy New Year!

 

“I have never heard anything about the resolutions of the apostles, but a good deal about their acts.”
-Og Mandino 

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

Leave a Reply

