Go Pack Go!

January 2, 2014 at 10:49 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Packing, packing, packing, packing…

It’s what I SHOULD be doing right now, but I felt like taking a break. It is fortunate for me that I have opened very few of my boxes of things over the past year at home. A constant internal monologue of “no, you’re leaving soon” has apparently served me well in this regard. That and living in a house full of stuff already; most of what I own would be a redundancy. 

A bunch of errands to run today, too. I have to get a haircut, go to the bank, retrieve all those still full boxes out of the garage, get the car cleaned up, go pick up the keys to my apartment (small detail), etc, etc. Nothing too difficult, but part of me is like “you’re finally not working, time for a vacation!” I’ll get a mini vacation, when I go up and visit family in about a week, so I should be more productive in the moment. It’s a bit of a struggle right now, but I’ll get there.

Kyle is coming to visit this weekend, which should be great. Haven’t seen him since Danny and Bethany’s wedding. It feels like less time, though, since we talk a lot through digital mediums. Still, excited to see him. 

Working my way through Under the Dome by Stephen King. It’s really good but at times makes me almost physically ache from all the awful things that happen to everyone. At times my inability to turn down the empathy makes it difficult to listen/watch/ready painful things. Fortunately it’s an audiobook, so I can pack and listen at the same time. I don’t think I’ve ever listened to a long audiobook before. The guy that does this one is fantastic, with voices for everyone. It makes you feel like it’s a stage show, almost. I’ve also been listening to a lot of public radio over the past 6 months or so, so perhaps I’m attuned to the medium. In any case, it works. 

Well, I should end my hiatus from being productive and get back to work. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

