At the End of The World

January 20, 2014 at 10:50 pm (Uncategorized)

Just finished a really great book called “The Defining Decade,” by Meg Jay, which details all the reasons why your 20’s matter. Totally worth reading, but the tl;dr version is this: things aren’t just going to happen, go get them. It’ll make you happier.

That’s not really what I’m thinking about this evening, though. I’ve been thinking off and on for the past week or so about people that I used to be really close to, or have been close to for brief stretches of time, and how I’m no longer close to them. It’s an unfortunate but common thing, I think. Distance, divergent interests, or any combination of those things makes people drift away. I’m not here to say whether that’s a good or bad thing, it’s just something that’s been kicking around. Thinking about the ASB trips I’ve been on, or sports teams, show casts, relationships, etc. 

We’re all walking along our particular paths, and sometimes for a while our paths converge and we get to walk together for a while, and that’s really cool. I think that it’s a good metaphor for impermanence in all things: your relationships with other people come and go, but they are beautiful and meaningful while they happen. It’s not worth it to lament it, because life has a funny way of bringing people back around, or so it seems. Also, if you want to have a relationship with someone, YOU have to work and make it happen. It’s a two way street, obviously, but you can’t count on the other person to make the effort. That’s just part of growing up, I think.

It’s weird/awesome that we can peek into people’s lives via social media, but at the same time, that’s not really their life. It’s a super scrubbed version of their life. I know I have plenty of days that suck, and you know what I don’t do? Post about it on facebook. I post the good things, the fun pictures, not because I am consciously trying to have everyone believe that I have my life together and that it’s so great, but because I think a lot of us don’t like to air our struggles in a public forum. I don’t like posting negative stuff on facebook, I know. This blog is a much more balanced version of events. 

Anyway, so I have these daydreams sometimes, or I get this feeling where I’m nostalgic about things that haven’t happened yet. It’s odd. If you’ve done any acting/atmosphere work you might know what I’m talking about, where all of a sudden you’re feeling a certain way/in a different place just because you’ve somehow willed yourself there. It’s like I’ve skipped the next relationship, or adventure, or what have you, and am looking back on it. I think it’s strange, but that’s where I’m at sometimes. 

 

In unrelated news, I have Ingrid Michaelson’s discography on shuffle right now and it’s just about perfect. I highly recommend her if you’ve never listened before. 

Leave a Reply

