Seahawks are going to the Super Bowl!

January 20, 2014 at 10:23 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I woke up this morning, elated once again that my Seahawks are finally going back to the Superbowl after eight lengthy years and a lot of heartache. Looking at the responses online, though, I had just one question: are we the baddies?

There will be a lot of talk about Richard Sherman, about Pete Carroll, and Golden Tate, who I admit are guys you love on your side but rub you the wrong way if they aren’t. In the end, I think we definitely have some guys on the team who are not afraid to be the villains, which is kind of great. Peyton Manning gets to be the hero going against big bad Seattle (which I still can scarcely believe that I’m saying, even in 2006 the Hawks have never inspired such emotion countrywide), and sports are at their best when we can craft a narrative. It’s all live theatre, really. 

It’s a little difficult for me to reconcile because the Seahawks have been so mediocre for so long, and I don’t know how to deal with a) haters or b) these ridiculous bandwagon fans. I guess it’s a new challenge for me, and a lot of others. 

I think the thing people have to keep in mind is that it’s fine to get worked up about the game, it’s great to be passionate, but you have to let yourself come back down to earth. You can’t hold on to the anger and hate, or else it swallows you up. I have teams a strongly dislike, a la the Steelers, but I know it’s not their fault for that. They’re just the beneficiary of some bad calls in a Super Bowl that happened 8 years ago. I’ll never like them, but I can’t hold it against their fans. Who doesn’t want sustained success? Same thing for the 49ers. I don’t want them to beat us, but their fandom is equally valid. People turn these tiny slights into huge things, and as for that stupid post about the difference between Kaepernick and Wilson’s instagrams do people not realize that it’s an utterly cherry picked sample? Kaep does good stuff for his community as well. Dislike the player, but respect the person. 

It’s all about perspective. Just take an hour, cool down, and enjoy. And if you really want to make us the bad guys, well, I had better start growing out my Snidely Whiplash mustache, because I’m down to roll if it means we’re winning. 

I think it’s going to be a great game, and I 3elieve in Russell’s ability to take us to the promised land. Superbowl here we come!

Leave a Reply

