Snow Day

February 6, 2014 at 9:54 pm (Uncategorized)

I will admit, it’s a little weird to be 3 1/2 days into a new position and be told “go home, snow day!” although it was fairly obvious that it was the correct call. Portland doesn’t really do snow, and I’m glad I got to bus home before traffic really snarled. Apologies to those of you who got stuck in traffic for hours and hours.

Speaking of buses, I had a fun experience this morning. So far this week I’ve been driving into work by virtue of either having to drive other places during the day or just not wanting to wake up early enough to run AND ride the bus, but today I decided I would finally bus in (side note: I hope to bike or bus to work the vast majority of the time if I can swing it. A lifetime of living in suburbia has me unlearning some bad habits at the moment) for the first time. Hopped on the first bus, no problem. Was reading, only half paying attention, got off at the stop I wanted to get off at, get on the second bus. It is of course heading in the WRONG direction. I love downtown Portland, but I needed to head east. Fortunately I was able to hop on board a completely different route that actually got me very close to work, but it there was a little nervousness involved since I had to be at a meeting at 9. I don’t enjoy being late for things.

Fortunately that experience helped me know which buses to take home, and mistakes are part of being new to the city, so ultimately it wasn’t a huge deal. 

Overall the first week has been a really positive experience, and I’m excited to hit the ground running next week with even more progress. Here we go!

 

 

 

PS: For the record, this is what it felt like to take the bus around town while traffic was struggling. 

Leave a Reply

