For The First Time in Forever…

July 5, 2014 at 9:30 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I finally watched Frozen today – it was totally fun. I realize I missed the bus on the whole “becoming a cultural phenomenon” thing, and I’ll confess that I’m not sure it deserved all the attention it got, but I enjoyed it. As you might have guessed from the title of this post, Let it Go is not even CLOSE to the best song in the movie. Sorry not sorry. Idina Menzel has got hella pipes, though.

Anyway, I’ve been mulling around writing topics in my head, and I figured it made sense to start with the place I spend most of my time – my desk at work. It’s not too exciting as far as desks go, and in fact it might be labeled more a table than a desk if you (like myself) feel that a proper desk should have drawers. In the center is my computer, the hub of emails, spreadsheets, databases, and all kinds of volunteer recruiting/researching/spreadsheety/emailtastic goodness. I have a small lamp that faces upwards and towards the wall – usually those lamps (there’s one at each desk in the office) are the only artificial light in the room. It at times makes it a bit dark, but we get enough natural light, and I find that I rather enjoy not working under halogen all the time. Above me on the wall is a cork board filled with quotes I’ve written out (I try to add one every week) that I use for motivation and focus. Anyone that knows me knows I’m fond of quotes; they help ground me when I’m feel unsteady. To my left is a file cabinet that I use somewhat sparingly, though it helps keep the clutter on my desk to merely unreasonable levels.

Here’s a picture:

desk at work

The quote board:

Quote Board at Work

The quote that ultimately I’m going to be writing about today:

Quote

 

Being yourself is difficult sometimes. It seems to me that some people are birthed into this world with purpose; they know exactly who they are and what they want to be. For the rest of us, it’s a bit murkier. I guess what’s tough sometimes for me is being who I am, rather than who I think other people want me to be.

At the moment, who I am is scattered. One of these days I’ll write something worth reading – but for now I’m getting some words down. A little bit of progress at a time.

Leave a comment