Friend Like Me

August 12, 2014 at 10:12 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

I think for me, there are a couple big takeaways from Robin William’s unfortunate passing.

1. Live in such a way that your love for the world shines brightly and clearly for everyone to see.

2. In your darkest moments, don’t be afraid to reach out for help.

It seems to me that if we all lived a little more like Robin Williams lived, those of us that are feeling alone or depressed might be able to find the understanding in themselves that there are people out there who care about them.

Hearing and reading all these stories about the ways in which Mr. Williams touched people’s lives, I am struck by his brilliance and the way at which he seemed to put everyone at ease – strangers, friends, fans, other stars – and how he presented himself to the world. We can either be people who enter a room and say “look at me!” or those who enter a room and say “look at you!”

By all accounts Robin Williams, though he certainly was worthy of the former, was amazing in no small part because of his commitment to the latter. He was one of a kind, but there is a way to celebrate his legacy in how we treat one another. I think that I am so afraid at times of how I will be perceived that I don’t just love everyone without restraint, even though I definitely believe that is the way that I should be.

Today, then, I’d like to make a resolution: that I will give people the respect and joy that they deserve, that I will make them feel special, that I will take the light inside and shine it for the world to see – even when it’s scary. I will give more hugs. I will reconnect with old friends, and make new ones.  I will endeavor to see the magic in every moment. I will laugh, giggle, and chortle more often. Occasionally I will guffaw. I will love without reservation, I will own my errors, and I will do my best to improve every day. 

 

I don’t know that I believe in an afterlife, but if there is, I hope you’ve found some peace. We’re all made out of stardust, but you managed to be made out of an extra shiny bit. 

Goodnight, Robin.

Leave a Reply

