Palabras con amigos

December 1, 2014 at 10:56 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I’ve been playing a lot of scrabble recently. Like, A LOT of scrabble. The update to the Words with Friends app has made it much easier to set up games with random people, so I’ve been playing a bunch with whoever feels like it. Not that I don’t love playing against my friends (I do, and I’d rather play against them to be honest) but I find that when I get into this sort of insatiable scrabble mood I need to be playing more games at a given time so that I can pretty much be constantly playing.

I’ve probably written about this before, but there’s something about the movement of letters into words (and words into phrases, and phrases into paragraphs, and paragraphs into complex cohesive ideas and narratives) that I find really fascinating and entertaining. I also find it a bit soothing. Even though English is a totally insane language cobbled together from the bodies of languages that came before, there is (mostly) a rhyme and reason to it, though I concede that the word rhyme is crazy as shit. In any case, in these times of mental unrest I find comfort in words. Words are tools, they can be molded into fun shapes and patterns. They are physical representations of abstract ideas – the abstract ideas that can keep me up at night. If I can arrange the letters into the words I want, then maybe I can bring some order to the chaos of my own mind.

I also might be reading too much into it all – I may just like words, and that’s that. I do find, though, that I lean on the things I feel good at (manipulating words, singing, etc) when I feel less confident in other areas of my life.

Leave a Reply

