Back in the USSA

April 29, 2015 at 10:57 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

I’m back in the United States! I can see out the window of my mom’s house out into the gorge, and I have been repeatedly struck over the past few days just how beautiful it is out here. Travel is wonderful, but there’s no place like home.

Over the next couple weeks my goal is to reflect more about my travels (though I’m sure I’ll be processing this for a long time), tell some stories about my trip, and make myself write more consistently.

First some news I’m excited about, though: my official offer letter finally showed up from OSU, and I have been offered a Graduate Teaching Assistantship that will cover tuition and pay me a monthly stipend, which is pretty exciting! If I have the choice I would prefer to get paid to go to school than the other way around. It’s a great opportunity to really focus in and get myself ready for the rest of my life and career – there are so many things about myself and this country that I would like to improve and I’m so fortunate to get the opportunity to pursue both paths. For the next few months I will be volunteering, working temp and odd jobs as I can find them, and hopefully doing a tiny bit more traveling before this next chapter starts in the fall.

Before I start with any stories, though, I have so much gratitude to relay.

To Kyle, of course, for being generous with his time, his apartment, and himself. As my partner in adventure for the nearly 6 weeks, I couldn’t have asked for a better traveling companion. I’m glad we were able to do this; it’s a bummer that he lives half a world away.

To all the wonderful people I met on our trip, including (but not limited to) Hazel, Julio, Gilbert, Tyler, Courtney, John, Alamo, Lefty, Narelle, Michelle, Lily, Joaquin, everyone in Studio 188, Alex, and that pug at the scooter rental place in Phuket.

To my whole family (especially my father, grandparents, & Amy) who were supportive of my adventures both emotionally and financially, you have my unending gratitude. I have to give an extra big shout out to my mother, who was generous with travel advice, frequent flier miles, and logistical support. She was excited for me even as I knew that she was secretly worried – a part of her didn’t want me to go. She also let me move my stuff back into her house so that I wouldn’t have to pay rent while I was gone, and is letting me crash here this summer before I leave for school. She’s the real MVP.

I feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to see a bit more of the world, and as I reflect on the fact that I have gotten chances that many others haven’t my resolve is strengthened to help people be able to achieve the things that give their lives meaning – whether it’s travel, an education, meaningful employment, or anything else. We live in a world where everyone should be shown the same decency and given the same dignity.

1 Comment

  1. waneekah said,

    Congrats on the amazing opportunity you received! More so, congrats on having the resolve to travel halfway across the world. You are incredibly fortunate and I can’t wait to read more on your travel experiences.

Leave a Reply

