Death with Dignity

July 21, 2016 at 8:57 am (Uncategorized)

It’s my birthday. That makes the juxtaposition of the call I received this morning that much more striking – a call that the person I have been matched with for a bone marrow donation has passed away. I celebrate another trip around the sun, somehow my 26th, this man has ceased to be. It’s a tough feeling to know that you were just a few weeks away from maybe being able to save someone, but knowing that you’ve come up just short. Time and sickness don’t always wait for us. My heart goes out to this man’s family, his friends, his loved ones. My feelings of helplessness undoubtedly pale in comparison to theirs.

I’d like to say a big thank you to Be the Match, who tirelessly work to help people with chronic bone-related cancers. I imagine how terrified someone must be, finding out that their immediate family isn’t a match and knowing how low the chances are that someone out in the general population is compatible. I can taste the fear and the hope that someone feels in that situation. Imagine being the cause of relief for a human person, for a family, for someone’s children or parents when they find out that they have found someone.

I didn’t get there in time for this particular individual. But it’s possible that you could. I implore everyone reading this to go to Be The Match (bethematch.org) and to register online. It’s SO easy. They send you a kit in the mail, you swab your mouth, and mail it back. It’s prepaid. They pay for all your expenses. They’re helping save lives. I was unable to help this man, but you might be able to help someone. Please sign up. Do it today – it takes all of 5 minutes, and 5 more minutes to swab your mouth later.

Leave a Reply

